Invert Operators Group User CP Contact Us FAQ Search Register

Go Back   Invert Operators Group > Random Talk > General Talk


Markerbids.com

This is a discussion on Markerbids.com within the General Talk section, part of the Random Talk category; Not sure if anyone on here is aware of this site yet or not Markerbids.com v2.1 - Get the good ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 24th, 2011, 08:41 PM
BS139's Avatar
Bored with real guns
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 188
Rep Power: 5
BS139 will become famous soon enoughBS139 will become famous soon enough
Default Markerbids.com

Not sure if anyone on here is aware of this site yet or not Markerbids.com v2.1 - Get the good stuff!

I tried it for a bit but have come to the conclusion that it is part scam and part private raffle (illegal). Here is why;

Mike Phillips (TechPB fame) started an auction site where he "auctions" off new items. The rub is that you pay $1.00 every time you bid.
The site registers your $1 bids as 1 cent bid and the bids continue until time runs out on a stale bid. Sometimes things for for cheap (80-90% "savings"),
other times they go for many times the objects retail value. More often than not Mike is making a killing on items and pockets the cash to "run" TechPB.

I think that here in Canada the site would be ruled as an illegal private raffle. You are essentially buying bids (tickets) without any assurance of winning,
and can spend more than the retail value of an item and still not "win it". He's recently made some changes but I think it's still fishy.

Just looking for open conversation with adults as opposed to the rabid fan-boys on his forum.

Thoughts?

B.

Last edited by BS139; February 24th, 2011 at 08:43 PM.
  #2  
Old February 25th, 2011, 05:31 AM
Kanuck's Avatar
The Artist formerly known as K
Become an IOG Supporting Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,943
Rep Power: 100
Kanuck has much to be proud ofKanuck has much to be proud ofKanuck has much to be proud ofKanuck has much to be proud ofKanuck has much to be proud ofKanuck has much to be proud ofKanuck has much to be proud ofKanuck has much to be proud of
Send a message via ICQ to Kanuck Send a message via AIM to Kanuck Send a message via MSN to Kanuck Send a message via Yahoo to Kanuck Send a message via Skype™ to Kanuck
Default

Markerbids.com - Page 3
__________________

Sean ( NOT a Canadian)

Kanuck's Custom Kreations
  #3  
Old February 25th, 2011, 07:08 AM
tigar19's Avatar
Full of Tigar blood

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 2,293
Rep Power: 100
tigar19 is a splendid one to beholdtigar19 is a splendid one to beholdtigar19 is a splendid one to beholdtigar19 is a splendid one to beholdtigar19 is a splendid one to beholdtigar19 is a splendid one to behold
Default

I have been to that site and even tried to win some things.

It's legitamite and legal here in the US. It's also gambling. This means you might lose your money without anything to show for it. OR This means you might win big.

I don't think of it as a raffle, because the winner is not chosen by a random pick from the hat. The winner is the last person to bid on it. Sometimes this requires you to have a lot of bids on hand to keep your place as the last bidder and sometimes you can win things with just a few bids because no one else wants to spend their bids on it.

So I don't understand why you think it is a scam. The people who win post up youtube videos showing the world what they won in return for free bids. This helps prove that it is not a scam. They've also hired, with pay, Dale Furby to monitor/audit the site for the use of autobidding robots which artificially drive up the price.

I am not a fanboy, but I do enjoy Mike's forum as well as markerbids.
__________________
  #4  
Old February 25th, 2011, 05:11 PM
Invictus's Avatar
I seek therefore I am
Become an IOG Supporting Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Age: 36
Posts: 465
Rep Power: 100
Invictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond reputeInvictus has a reputation beyond repute
Default

As long as folks are getting the merchandise, that's what matters. As Mike stated in the thread on the X7OG, he provides plenty of feedback/tools on the process and clearly states the intent of the site and how it functions.

I can also understand Mike's need to raise capital, as running a site can be costly on it's own. Folks often make demands for new or updated aspects of a site but they rarely ever are willing to help pay for it... and then it's left up to the owner to foot the bill or face the wrath of it's members.
__________________

Proud member of Team IYAOYAS and sponsored by
Planet Eclipse , LCP Army, SobePaintball , Shooting Hot Magazine, Addiction Army, The Ford Report , and Conlee Custom Camo.


When being an Owner just isn't enough, A5OG l X7OG l 98OG l PEOG l IOG
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.
vBSkinworks


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2009 Invert Operators Group - Proudly part of the Operators Group
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0